CReW+

Erfahre mehr über unsere Aktivitäten in der Region Lateinamerika und Karibik

Safe Hand HygieneNec nam aliquam. Mauris pharetra et ultrices neque ornare aenean euismod.

Abwasser- und Fäkalschlammmanagement

Safe Hand HygieneNec nam aliquam. Mauris pharetra et ultrices neque ornare aenean euismod.

Finanzierungsmechanismen

Safe Hand HygieneNec nam aliquam. Mauris pharetra et ultrices neque ornare aenean euismod.

Betrieb und Instandhaltung

Die Region Mittelamerika und Karibik steht vor zahlreichen Herausforderungen bei der Sanitär- und Abwasserversorgung. Rund 70% der Bevölkerung mangelt es an Zugang zu sicherer Sanitärversorgung und etwa 80% des Abwassers wird unbehandelt in die Umwelt entlassen, weil die rechtlichen, politischen und finanziellen Rahmenbedingungen für nachhaltiges Abwassermanagement nicht gegeben sind. Die Folge ist eine schwere Verschmutzung des Grundwassers, der Böden, Wassereinzugsgebiete und letztlich des Karibischen Meers.

GEF CReW+ ist ein von der Globalen Umweltfazilität (GEF) finanziertes Partnerschaftsprojekt, das von der Interamerikanischen Entwicklungsbank (IDB) und dem Umweltprogramm der Vereinten Nationen (UNEP) in 18 Ländern der Region Mittelamerika und Karibik gemeinsam umgesetzt wird. Das Konzept wurde im November 2017 genehmigt. GEF CReW+ wird von der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH, der Organisation Amerikanischer Staaten (OAS) und dem Sekretariat des Cartagena-Übereinkommens im Namen der IDB bzw. UNEPs umgesetzt.

GEF CReW+ bietet Lösungen in den Bereichen Politik, Finanzierung, Technologie sowie Kommunikation und Wissensmanagement, um die Auswirkungen von unbehandeltem Abwasser auf die Umwelt und die öffentliche Gesundheit zu verringern.

Sanitation for Millions setzt Maßnahmen in elf Ländern des Projekts um. Siehe unten für mehr Details:

In Belize entwickelt Sanitation for Millions eine nationale Richtline und Strategie für das Abwassermanagement, erarbeitet ein Finanzierungsmodell zur Förderung der Installation von Klärgruben und führt Studien zum Bau einer Kläranlage auf Caye Caulker durch.

In Kolumbien entwickelt Sanitation for Millions einen regulatorischen und ökonomischen Mechanismus, um Aspekte des Umwelt- und Territorialmanagements in die aktuelle Tarifreform im Sanitärsektor einzubringen. Darüber hinaus arbeitet das Projekt an der Optimierung der Kläranlage in San Antero, Cordoba, zur Umsetzung eines auf ökologischen und sozio-ökonomischen Studien basierten Wiederverwendungssystems für die behandelten Abwässer.

In Costa Rica arbeitet das Projekt an der Aktualisierung des Nationalen Wasserplans, verbessert den Zugang indigener Gemeinschaften zu Mitteln aus einem Fonds für Sanitär- und Abwasserversorgung und führt eine Machbarkeitsstudie für eine Kläranlage in der Gemeinde La Fortuna durch.

In der Dominikanischen Republik unterstützt Sanitation for Millions die Aktualisierung von Standards für die Abwasserentsorgung, entwickelt ein Schema für die finanzielle Nachhaltigkeit des Sanitärsektors und saniert zwei Kläranlagen in der Gemeinde Sabana Yegua und an der Universität von Santo Domingo.

In Guatemala unterstützt das Projekt die Aktualisierung des Nationalen Leitfadens für das Management von Wassereinzugsgebieten und stellt dessen sachgerechte Anwendung durch die Ausarbeitung eines Qualifizierungsplans sicher.

In Honduras erarbeitet das Projekt eine Norm für Meeres- und Küstenqualität, eine Gefährdungskarte und einen finanziellen Handlungsplan sowie ein Geschäftsmodell im Wasser- und Abwasserbereich. Darüber hinaus wird eine Kläranlage für die Gemeinde Omoa entworfen.

In Jamaika entwickelt Sanitation for Millions eine nationale Richtlinie für Abwasser- und Fäkalschlammmanagement sowie ein Geschäftsmodell für die Wiederverwendung von behandelten Abwässern von einer Anlage der nationalen Wasserbehörde.

In Mexiko trägt das Projekt durch eine Aktualisierung entsprechender Normen und Regulierungen zum Schutz des karsthydrologischen Systems bei, identifiziert Finanzierungsoptionen und -mechanismen für eine Kläranlage in Quintana Roo und installiert innovative technische Lösungen für die Sammlung und Aufbereitung von Regenwasser. 

In Panama entwickelt Sanitation for Millions Leitfäden, die den nachhaltigen Umgang mit Wasserressourcen für die umgesiedelte Gemeinde der Guna in Nuevo Cartí erleichtert. Darüber hinaus entwirft das Projekt Schemata und nachhaltige Finanzierungsmodelle für das Integrierte Wasser- und Abwassermanagement und setzt diese um.

In Suriname fördert Sanitation for Millions die Entwicklung einer nationalen Politik und Strategie für nachhaltiges Abwassermanagement, trägt zur Identifizierung von Finanzierungsquellen und Projektformulierungen in einer multi-institutionellen Arbeitsgruppe bei. Darüber hinaus liefert das Projekt das Design für eine Anlage zur Behandlung von Fäkalschlamm nahe Ornamibo, ergänzt durch Qualifizierungsmaßnahmen für Betrieb und Instandhaltung der neuen Infrastruktur.

In Trinidad und Tobago entwickelt das Projekt spezifische Standards zur Wiederverwendung von Abwässern im Einklang mit den gegenwärtigen Rahmenbedingungen der nationalen Wasserpolitik und internationalen Standards. Darüber hinaus wird die Positionierung hinsichtlich eines neuen Abwassertarifs und der entsprechenden Kommunikationsstrategie unterstützt.

Die CReW+ Academy ist die kostenlose Plattform für alle Fortbildungen, die im Rahmen von CReW+ angeboten werden. Es wurden bereits vier Trainings-Blöcke und ein Massive Open Online Course angeboten. Finde mehr Informationen und Materialien auf der Website der CReW+ Academy.

Unser Team in der Region Lateinamerika und Karibik

CReW_Katharina

Katharina Schaaff

Komponentenleiterin Finanzierung

Uver Villalobos

komponentenleiter technologie

Diana Ramírez

komponentenleiterin kommunikation

CReW_SophieII

Sophie Müller

technische beraterin

Neftalí Calel Guox

technischer berater

Sharon van Tuylen

technische beraterin

Diana García

technische beraterin

CReW_Antony

Antony Torres

Junior-berater

CReW_Valeria

Valeria Zumbado

Junior-beraterin

CReWPaula

Paula Cespedes

JUNIOR-BERATERIN

CReW_Dayanacut

Dayana Cabrera

Administrative ASSISTENZ

Mehr Eindrücke

„For us, “WASH models that work” means simple, scalable and inclusive infrastructure and routines for safe sanitation and hygiene at public institutions.“

FRED NUWAGABA
OFFICER RESPONSIBLE FOR IMPLEMENTATION IN UGANDA

Projektländer

Sanitation for Millions setzt derzeit Maßnahmen in Jordanien, Uganda und Pakistan sowie in elf Ländern der Region Mittelamerika und Karibik um. Erfahre auf den Länderseiten mehr darüber, wie wir durch unsere Arbeit den Zugang zu sicherer Sanitärversorgung und Hygiene verbessern.

CReW+

EXPLORE OUR ACTIVITIES IN THE WIDER CARIBBEAN REGION

Wastewater / Faecal Sludge ManagementNec nam aliquam. Mauris pharetra et ultrices neque ornare aenean euismod.

Wastewater and Faecal Sludge Management

Financing MechanismsNec nam aliquam. Mauris pharetra et ultrices neque ornare aenean euismod.

Financing Mechanisms

Operation and MaintenanceNec nam aliquam. Mauris pharetra et ultrices neque ornare aenean euismod.

Operation and Maintenance

The Wider Caribbean Region faces multiple challenges in the wastewater and sanitation service provision. About 70% of the region’s population lack access to safely managed sanitation and hygiene. Approximately 80% of the wastewater is being discharged to the environment without any treatment as a result of weak legislative, political and regulatory frameworks and lacking financial means to maintain the infrastructure. This causes severe pollution of groundwater, soils, watersheds and ultimately the Caribbean Sea, thereby disrupting the natural water cycle.

GEF CReW+ is a partnership project funded by the Global Environment Facility (GEF) that is being co-implemented by the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) and the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) in 18 countries of the Wider Caribbean Region (WCR). The concept was approved in November 2017. GEF CReW+ is being co-executed by the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH, the Organisation of the American States (OAS) and the Secretariat of the Cartagena Convention on behalf of the IDB and UNEP respectively.

The GEF CReW+ project provides solutions in the fields of policy, financing, technology, as well as communications and knowledge management to mitigate the effects of non-treated wastewater on the environment and public health. 

Sanitation for Millions executes activities in eleven of the project countries. For more details, see below.

In Belize, activities include the development of a national policy and strategy on wastewater management, the elaboration of a finance model that promotes the installation of septic tanks for sewerage collection, and the conduction of complementary studies for a wastewater treatment plant on Caye Caulker.

In Colombia, GEF CReW+ develops a regulatory and economic mechanism to incorporate environmental and management aspects in the water and sanitation tariff reform and optimizes the wastewater treatment plant of San Antero de Cordoba, including the implementation of a reuse system based on environmental and socio-economic studies.

In Costa Rica, GEF CReW+ realizes an update of the National Water Plan, improves rural communities’ access to funds of the Canon Ambiental de Vertidos for sanitation and sewerage investments, and conducts a feasibility study for a wastewater treatment plant in the ASADA La Fortuna.

In the Dominican Republic, GEF CReW+ contributes to the update of wastewater discharge standards, develops a financial sustainability scheme for the sanitation sector, and rehabilitates two wastewater treatment plants in Sabana Yegua and at the Universidad Autónoma de Santo Domingo.

In Guatemala, GEF CReW+ updates the national watershed management guide and ensures its proper application through the elaboration of a capacity building plan.

In Honduras, GEF CReW+ elaborates a marine-coastal quality norm, an environmental vulnerability map, a financial action plan, and a business model in the field of wastewater management for the municipality of Omoa, and designs and implements a wastewater treatment system in Omoa.

In Jamaica, GEF CReW+ develops a national policy on wastewater and faecal sludge management as well as a business plan for the reuse of treated effluent from a facility run by the National Water Commission.

In Mexico, GEF CReW+ contributes to the protection of the karst system by updating relevant regulations and norms, identifying financing options and mechanisms for wastewater treatment plants in Quintana Roo, installs new eco-technologies for water abstraction, storage, use, and treatment, fosters community water quality monitoring, and develops and rolls out a community water governance strategy, including community training and awareness-raising.

In Panama, GEF CReW+ develops an instrument for the implementation of Panamanian water and sanitation legislation in the community of Nuevo Cartí, and designs and implements actions plans and business models to address integrated water and wastewater management.

In Suriname, GEF CReW+ develops a National Policy and Strategy on Wastewater Management, promotes the identification of funding sources and project formulation through capacity building in a multi-institutional working group, and realizes a feasibility study and the design of a faecal sludge management facility located in Ornamibo, including capacity building for the operation and maintenance of the new infrastructure.

In Trinidad and Tobago, GEF CReW+ develops specific reuse standards in harmony with the current water policy framework and in line with international standards, and supports the policy positioning on a new tariff and corresponding communication strategy.

 The CReW+ Academy is a free platform that brings together all the training initiatives within the GEF CReW+ project in a single point. Four training blocks and a Massive Open Online Course have already been offered. You can find more information and materials on the website of the Academy.

Our Team in the Wider Caribbean Region

Katharina Schaaff

Katharina Schaaff

component lead
financing

Uver Villalobos

Component lead technology

Diana Ramírez

component lead communication

Diana García

Technical Advisor

Neftalí Calel

Neftalí Calel Guox

Technical Advisor

Sharon van Tuylen

Technical Advisor

Sophie Müller

Sophie Müller

Technical Advisor

Antony Torres

Antony Torres

JUnior advisor

Paula Cespedes

Paula Cespedes

JUnior advisor

Valeria Zumbado

Valeria Zumbado

JUNIOR ADVISOr

Dayana Cabrera

Dayana Cabrera

ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT

More Impressions

„For us, “WASH models that work” means simple, scalable and inclusive infrastructure and routines for safe sanitation and hygiene at public institutions.“

FRED NUWAGABA
OFFICER RESPONSIBLE FOR IMPLEMENTATION IN UGANDA

Project Countries

Sanitation for Millions is currently implementing activities in Jordan, Pakistan, Uganda, and with CReW+ in eleven countries of the Wider Caribbean Region. Explore our work on the country pages and learn how we improve access to safe sanitation and hygiene as well as wastewater management and reuse.